Power plant construction recently completed and under way is outlined at pp. 563-564.

## 18.—Distribution of Quebec Hydro Primary Power by Customer Group 1951-55

System	1951	1952	1953	1954	1955
	h.p.	h.p.	h.p.	h.p.	- h.p.
Montreal System Beauharnois Local System Beauharnois 25-cycle System (H E P C. of	$803,000 \\ 171,000$	873,000 189,000	997,000 213,000	$1,117,000\ 154,000$	1,230,000 106,000
Ontario)	$250,000\ 80,000\ 8,000$	$250,000 \\ 135,000 \\ 15,000$	250,000 142,000 23,000	$250,000 \\ 126,000 \\ 40,000$	250,000 99,000 40,000
Totals	1,312,000	1,462,000	1,625,000	1,687,000	1,725,000

(Coincident with Montreal System peak)

In addition to these generating and distributing systems, the Quebec Hydro-Electric Commission owns the 64,000-h.p. upper Ottawa River plant at Rapid VII, the 48,000-h.p. Rapid II plant and also the Dozois Reservoir. Average primary power capacities for this Northern Quebec System (Cadillac-Noranda district) are: 1951, 30,550 h.p.; 1952, 29,200 h.p.; 1953, 54,000 h.p.; 1954, 80,000 h.p.; 1955, 96,000 h.p.

The Commission delivers some 30,000 h.p. on the south shore of the St. Lawrence River in the Gaspe area. That power is temporarily purchased from Manicouagan Power Company and transmitted across the River through a 69-kv. submarine cable, over a distance of 30 miles. The Commission also purchases about 13,000 h.p. from Saguenay Transmission Company for delivery to mining companies in the Chibougamau area.

**Ontario.**—The Hydro-Electric Power Commission of Ontario was created in 1906 by an enactment of the Ontario Legislature. In its creation, consideration was given to the recommendations of advisory commissions previously appointed in response to public demand that the water powers of Ontario should be conserved and developed for the benefit of all the people of the Province. The Commission operates under the authority of The Power Commission Act (7 Edw. VII, c. 19) passed in 1907 as an amplification of the Act of 1906 and subsequently modified by numerous amending Acts (R.S.O. 1950, c. 281).

The Commission may have from three to six members, all of whom are appointed by the Lieutenant-Governor in Council. One commissioner must be, and a second commissioner may be, a member of the Executive Council of the Province of Ontario.

The Commission is a corporate entity, a self-sustaining public concern endowed under The Power Commission Act with broad powers to produce, buy and deliver electric power throughout the Province and to exercise certain regulatory functions with respect to the large group of municipal electrical utilities which it serves. The enterprise administered by the Commission is generally referred to as Ontario Hydro.

Initially the undertaking proposed to purchase a block of 100,000 h.p. from the Ontario Power Company Limited at Niagara Falls and to distribute this to 13 municipalities which had signed the original contracts with the Commission to take power at cost. Construction of a transmission system to distribute power to the member municipalities was begun in 1909, and by the end of 1910 power was being supplied to several municipalities through what was known as the Niagara System. In northwestern Ontario the Thunder Bay System was inaugurated when the Commission built a short transmission line and a substation to serve Port Arthur with power purchased from the Kaministiquia Power Company.

The establishment of the original Niagara System was followed in 1911 by the formation of the Severn System and subsequently of other systems to serve groups of municipalities in various sections of the Province. In 1924 the Severn and two other systems were consolidated to form the Georgian Bay System and in 1929 and 1930 a consolidation of